Interested in how JMT can help you?

Contact Us »

Taylor Street Bridge

Location: Washington, D.C. Client: Federal Highway Administration - Eastern Federal Lands Highway Division

JMT served as lead designer for a design-build bridge replacement project in Washington, DC.

The existing Taylor Street Bridge was a five-span structure, constructed in 1939, that carried four lanes of Taylor Street traffic over Brookland Avenue and numerous railroad tracks.  The bridge had been rehabilitated twice and was in need of replacement.

JMT served as lead designer for the Design-Build replacement bridge project, and the team provided many innovations that significantly reduced cost and schedule.  Our design altered the proposed four-span layout to a two-span continuous structure using hybrid steel plate girders. The east approach was lengthened and supported by mechanically-stabilized earth walls to reduce the overall span length to 294 LF, subsequently eliminating a pier and economizing the abutment design.  Due to the innovative design and construction techniques used by the Design-Build team, the project construction schedule was reduced to 630 calendar days, 100 days fewer than required by the client.

The bridge traversed Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) Metro and CSXT freight rail tracks, but our design included a new center pier that was constructed entirely outside the railroad right-of-way, to simplify future maintenance.

Additional work included the reconstruction of Puerto Rico Avenue adjacent to the bridge with full depth pavement, improvements to the entrance of several nearby businesses, new traffic signals at a nearby intersection, and the replacement of a failed retaining wall along Puerto Rico Avenue.

Aesthetic and safety elements focused on creating a streetscape environment with decorative light poles, improved lighting intensity on the roadway and both sidewalks, and continuous fence.

All design and construction efforts were fully coordinated with the client as well as District Department of Transportation (DDOT), WMATA, CSXT, local Advisory Neighborhood Committees, and utility agencies.


« Go Back